Historic Preservation


Historic preservation preserves and fosters the use and reuse of historic buildings which add significantly to a community's distinctiveness, personality, and diversity. Historic preservation encourages pride and reinvestment in older existing neighborhoods, thus stabilizing and enhancing values.

In 1997, the Rocky Mount City Council appointed nine members to serve on a newly-created Rocky Mount Historic Preservation Commission (HPC). The HPC is the lead authority in regards to: compiling an inventory of significant properties; designating landmarks and historic districts; promoting preservation efforts; and reviewing Certificate of Appropriateness (COA) proposals for alterations, demolitions, or new construction within historic districts, or of designated landmarks.

The Commission meets on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:00 pm in the third floor committee room at the Frederick E. Turnage Municipal Building (City Hall).

Within Rocky Mount, there are a total of seven historic districts, combining 1,200 properties:

Owners of property within the city's local historic districts will find the preservation guidelines are user friendly and important to reference in the planning stages of a project. The Department of Development Services provides professional staff support to assist property owners.

For more information related to Rocky Mount's historic resources, click on one of the following links: