Development Services

Historic Preservation Commission


Historic Preservation Commission meetings are held on the fourth Tuesday of the month at 6:00 pm in the Committee Room, Third Floor, Frederick E. Turnage Municipal Building [331 S. Franklin Street, Rocky Mount, NC 27804]

The purpose of the Historic Preservation Commission is to: safeguard the heritage of the City of Rocky Mount by preserving and regulating historic landmarks and historic districts; to enhance the environmental quality of neighborhoods; to establish and improve property values; and, to foster economic development.

The Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) was created by an ordinance adopted by the City Council on May 12, 1997 pursuant to the General Statutes of North Carolina, G.S. 160A, Article 19, Part C. This Commission consists of nine members appointed by the Mayor and City Council, serving four year staggered terms. The Council may also appoint ex-officio members who have special interest, experience or education in history, architecture, archaeology or related fields.

Historic Preservation preserves and fosters the use and reuse of historic buildings which add significantly to a community’s distinctiveness, personality, and diversity. Historic preservation encourages pride and reinvestment in neighborhoods, thus stabilizing and enhancing values. The members of the Commission are residents of Rocky Mount serving as lead authority to compile an inventory of significant properties, designate landmarks and historic districts, promote preservation efforts, and review Certificates of Appropriateness (COA) applications for the proposed alterations, demolitions, or new construction within local historic districts, or of designated local landmarks.

Click Here to visit the Historic Preservation page

Planning Board

Historic Preservation Commission

Board of Adjustment