Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO)

The Rocky Mount Urban Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) is the transportation planning agency serving the City of Rocky Mount, the Town of Nashville, the Town of Sharpsburg, and portions of Edgecombe and Nash Counties. The primary goal of the Transportation Planning Group is to develop an integrated, multi-modal transportation network that efficiently moves people and goods and meets the long range transportation needs of the Rocky Mount Urban Area.

The MPO is a transportation policy-making body made up of representatives from government and transportation agencies with authority and responsibility in metropolitan areas. Federal legislation requires the formation of an MPO for any urbanized area with a population greater than 50,000.

The City of Rocky Mount has served as the Lead Planning Agency for the MPO, which was established in 1992 as the seventeenth North Carolina MPO. After the 2000 Census the MPO boundary was adjusted to include the Town of Nashville. The Town of Sharpsburg was included in the MPO after the 2010 Census.

Jordan Reedy

AICP Principal Transportation Planner

P: 252-972-1129

Frederick E. Turnage Municipal Building
331 S. Franklin St.
Rocky Mount

View the Final Connect 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan, and the 2024-2033 Metropolitan Transportation Improvement Program below

Click here to view the Final Connect 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan

Click here to view the 2024-2033 Metropolitan Transportation Improvement Program

Click here to view the Transportation Conformity Determination Report for the Rocky Mount MPO

Rocky Mount Urban Area MPO TAC Members

Local governments in the MPO are represented by an elected official on the Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC), which is responsible for a continuous, comprehensive and cooperative transportation planning process. Staff members from local planning organizations, the North Carolina Department of Transportation, and the Federal Highway Administration comprise the Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC) which reports to the TAC.

    • Edgecombe County Commissioner – Evelyn Powell
    • Nash County Commissioner – Robbie Davis (Chairman)
    • NC Board of Transportation – Melvin Mitchell
    • Rocky Mount City Council – Mayor Sandy Roberson, Reuben Blackwell, Richard Joyner
    • Nashville Town Council – Xavien Harrison
    • Sharpsburg Town Council – David Pride

Sunset Avenue

MPO Boundary

Transportation Conformity
Determination Report