Development Services

Planning Board

Next Meeting

5:30 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 11, City Council Chamber – 3rd floor of Frederick E. Turnage Municipal Building, 331 S. Franklin St.

The Planning Board conducts a comprehensive and continuing program to direct the community’s growth along civic lines and establish principles and politics for guiding development in the City of Rocky Mount and the City’s extraterritorial planning and zoning areas in Nash and Edgecombe Counties.

The Planning Board was first established by ordinance on November 20, 1947, pursuant to the General Statutes of North Carolina. The City Council appoints seven members, one from each ward, who reside within the corporate limits of the City of Rocky Mount. Members appointed by the City Council may vote on all matters coming before the Board. The Boards of Commissioners of Nash and Edgecombe Counties each appoint one member who resides within the extraterritorial jurisdiction of the respective counties as described in the Land Development Code of the City of Rocky Mount. Members appointed by the respective counties may vote only on those matters involving the appointing county.

Meetings are generally held on the second Tuesday of each month.

Planning Board

Historic Preservation Commission

Board of Adjustment