Acknowledgements

e are indebted to the following individuals for their invaluable time and input in the process of researching, writing, & producing Together Tomorrow > Tier 1 Smart Growth Comprehensive Plan

The City Council Frederick E. Turnage, Mayor

Lamont Wiggins, Mayor Pro Tem

Jimmie G. Armstrong Reuben C. Blackwell, IV W. B. Bullock Chris Miller Helen P. Gay Walter D. Wiggins

Richard J. Rose, City Attorney

Office of the City Manager Stephen W. Raper, City Manager

Peter F. Varney, Assistant City Manager Brenda A. Lewis, Public Affairs Manager

Charles W. Penny, Assistant City Manager Kaye Edmisten, Downtown Development Manager

Ann Wall, Budget & Evaluation Manager

Office of the City Clerk Jean Bailey, City Clerk

THE Planning Board

Norman Chambliss, III, Chairman Josh Munden, Vice Chairman

Curtis Andrews William Keith Ballentine Gordon Bunn F. Winslow Goins Charles Lewis Lee Michaletz Joseph J. Ray, Sr. Ken Moorefield Bobbie Clark Patrick Lamm

THE COMPREHENSIVE PLAN STEERING COMMITTEE

John Gessaman AICP, Chairman Joseph J. Ray, Sr., Vice Chairman

Lurania Carter
David Combs
Joyce Dickens
Margaret Early
Carl Edge
Bill Floyd

Josh Munden Mae Parker Leonard Pittman Lanny Shuff Merland Wright Lorenzo Carmen*

C. B. Daughtridge*
Roger Hedrick*
Robert Murphy*
Charles Penny*
Peter Varney*

*Ex-Officio Members

Administrative Staff

Pete Armstrong – Parks & Recreation Director Paul Blount - Water Resources Director Loretta Braswell – Human Relations Director Janice Cox – Human Resources Director Jerry Pierce-Engineering Director

Craig Kivett – Finance Director William A. Hogan – Chief of Police Kenneth Mullen - Fire Chief Doug Roberson – Public Works Director Richard Worsinger – Public Utilities Director

DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING & DEVELOPMENT Roger Hedrick, FAICP - Planning Director* Charlean Wilkins – Department Secretary

Planning Division

Denise Boswell- Principal Planner

M. Adelia Ramey – Sr. Community Design Planner*

Rudolph Knight – Historic Preservation Planner

Kenneth Graves-Planner

Kelly Finney - Planning Administrator Sandra Lynch – Planning Technician Former Planning Staff: Nancy Nixon* & Teresa Pierce*

Robert Kane*

*Together Tomorrow - Comprehensive Plan Publishing Team

Community Development Division

Vanessa McCleary - Community Development Administrator

Emily Ashburn - CD Specialist

John Perry - Rehab Specialist

Deborah Jenkins – CD Technician Tyronsa Lynch- CD Secretary

Cornelia McGee-Anthony – Lead Coordinator Felicia Westray* - Administrative Assistant

Glenn Silver* – HOME Coordinator

Inspection Division

Richard Strickland – Inspections Services Administrator

Debbie Baines – Zoning Inspector

Shirley Ricks - Permit Clerk

Jackie Daniel - Permit Clerk

Robert Wells – Construction Development

Kenny Lewis – Electrical Inspector

Coordinator

Charles Nelms – Chief Building Inspector Al Parris – Electrical Inspector

Braxton Tanner – Mechanical Inspector Harry Threatt – Plumbing Inspector

Enterprise Alliance

Terri Anderson – Enterprise Alliance Executive Director

Joyce Thigpen – Administrative Assistant

Finance/Information Systems

John Cook – Computer Systems Analyst

ACP Visioning and Planning Columbus, Ohio

Rocky Mount Telegram

Photography contributed by David H. Weaver (as noted)

